PMMI Announces Packaging Hall of Fame Inductees

Aug. 24, 2009
PMMI releases the names of five packaging industry leaders appointed to the Packaging Hall of Fame Class of 2009.

Patrick J. Helm, business development manager, Balluff Inc.; Mark Jacobson, vice president, Econocorp Inc.; Dwight C. Schmidt, president, Fibre Box Association; James E. Scott of JES Packaging; and Dennis E. Young, specialist teacher, Michigan State University, were selected by the Packaging Hall of Fame Commission.

“The selections were unanimous but not easy,” says Ben Miyares, vice president of industry relations at PMMI. “They were chosen from a group of 21 nominees. The commission agreed these individuals best demonstrate the ideals of the Packaging Hall of Fame—advancing the science, technology and/or practice of packaging; expanding the knowledge and understanding of packaging; and serving as a remarkable volunteer.”

The industry leaders will be inducted into the Packaging Hall of Fame during a fundraising reception Oct. 5 at Pack Expo in Las Vegas. Proceeds from the reception benefit college-level packaging education.

Since 1971, PMMI’s Packaging Hall of Fame has recognized career packaging professionals for their significant contributions to packaging education.