CICMHE Reveals Winners of Student Competition

CHARLOTTE, N.C.— The College Industry Council on Material Handling Education (CICMHE) announced the winners of the 2007-2008 Material Handling Student Design Competition.

First place ($1,500 split among the team plus $500 for the department) goes to Logan Wells, Charlie Crawford, Justin Love and Kelvin Yuen at Virginia Tech. Yasemin Merzifonluoglu is the advisor.

Two teams tied for second place. Joshua Monsees, Leonardo Gala, Andrew Lawlor and Lindsay Power of the Rochester Institute of Technology (Andres Carrano, advisor), along with Brent Carter, Sean O’Meara, Kevin Oden and Jonathan Jones of the University of Arkansas (Russell Meller, advisor) will receive the second-place prize of $1,500 split among the teams plus $500 for each department.

An honorable mention goes to Anton Slobodnik, Sviatoslav Reutovski, Chris Ramirez and Juan Raya at Cal Poly State University. Liz Schlemer is the advisor.

The competition is sponsored by the CICMHE and Bastian Material Handling.

The 2008-2009 design competition is expected to be released by mid-September, following development by Keogh Consulting and a review by CICMHE.

Hide comments


  • Allowed HTML tags: <em> <strong> <blockquote> <br> <p>

Plain text

  • No HTML tags allowed.
  • Web page addresses and e-mail addresses turn into links automatically.
  • Lines and paragraphs break automatically.