CLM Elects Officers

Mark E. Richards, vice president, Associated Warehouses Inc., was elected to the office of president of the Council of Logistics Management (CLM). The announcement was made at the organization's annual business meeting held October 6, in conjunction with CLM's 2004 Annual Conference in Philadelphia.

The Council of Logistics Management is a professional organization of individuals who have interests in logistics and supply chain management. CLM works in cooperation with private industry and various professional and academic organizations to further the understanding and development of the logistics and supply chain management concepts. It does this through a continuing program of research, formal educational activities and informal discussions.

The definition of logistics, as adopted by CLM, is "that part of the supply chain process that plans, implements and controls the efficient, effective forward and reverse flow and storage of goods, services and related information between the point of origin and the point of consumption in order to meet customers' requirements."

Also adopted by CLM, the definition of supply chain management "encompasses the planning and management of all activities involved in sourcing and procurement, conversion, and all logistics management activities. Supply chain management integrates supply and demand management within and across companies."

As vice president of Associated Warehouses Inc., Richards' responsibilities include overseeing the consortium of 50-plus third-party logistics service providers operating more than 110 million square feet of space throughout North America and Europe. He is also a partner in two additional logistics services companies, a freight pre-audit and processing company called The Logistics Department and a transportation claims management company -- Western Transportation Management Services.

The 2003-2004 president, Elijah Ray, automatically became the Immediate past president. Ray is the senior vice president of customer solutions at Standard Corporation.

Officers elected to serve on the 2004-2005 Executive Committee include: Mary-Lou Quinto, Genetech Inc., first vice president; Rick D. Blasgen, ConAgra Foods Inc., second vice president; Richard J. Jackson, Limited Logistics Services Inc., secretary and treasurer.

Richards named to following to chairs of the executive committee: Tomas W. Speh, Richard Murphy Jr., Heather L. Sheehan, Roger W. Woody, Thomas L. Freese, Keith Turner, James R. Stock, Robert Silverman, Kate L. Vitasek and Maria A. McIntyre.

For more information on CLM, visit

Hide comments


  • Allowed HTML tags: <em> <strong> <blockquote> <br> <p>

Plain text

  • No HTML tags allowed.
  • Web page addresses and e-mail addresses turn into links automatically.
  • Lines and paragraphs break automatically.