People- December 2004


Scott Denning has been named senior vice president of supply chain management and operations for StrionAir Inc. (, a manufacturer of air filtration and purification products. He was previously with ICX Global Inc.

Uwe Doerken, head of DHL Express Americas, Asia and Emerging Markets (, has been replaced by John Mullen, currently CEO of DHL Asia Pacific. Also, John Fellows, CEO of DHL Americas, will transition into a new role with parent Deutsche Post World Net.

Less-than-truckload (LTL) carrier USF Corp. ( has named Paul Liska executive chairman and Thomas Bergmann interim CEO, following the resignation of Richard DiStasio, formerly chairman, president and CEO. DiStasio has left to pursue other interests.

Robert Cunningham has been named president and chief operating officer of truckload carrier Swift Transportation Co. Inc. ( He is currently the owner of Cunningham Commercial Vehicles, which he plans to sell. Jerry Moyes will continue as chairman and CEO; Cunningham will become the Swift CEO by the end of 2005.

Thomas Glaser has been promoted to president of truckload carrier Celadon Group Inc. (, a position previously held by chairman and CEO Steve Russell. Glaser was previously chief operating officer.

John Andrews has been named chairman of ShipXpress Inc. (, a provider of supply chain management solutions. He was previously CEO of Giga Information Group.

Ralf Suerken has been named chief strategy officer of Pragmatek Consulting Group (, which focuses on supply chain solutions. He was previously with Portal Software Inc. and SAP America.

Canadian Pacific Railway ( has promoted Fred Green to executive vice president and chief operating officer. He was previously executive vice president, operations and marketing.

Kenneth Ringler Jr. has been named executive director of the Port Authority of New York and New Jersey (, succeeding Joseph Seymour, who has retired. Ringler had been New York State Commissioner of General Services.

Tim Farrell has been promoted to executive director of the Port of Tacoma (, replacing Andrea Riniker, who plans to leave at the end of the year. Farrell had been deputy executive director under Riniker.

The National Association of Manufacturers ( has named John Luke Jr. chairman and John Engler president. Luke is chairman of MeadWestvaco Corp. and Engler is the former three-term Governor of Michigan. Engler succeeds Jerry Jasinowski.

Jeremy Coote has resigned from his position of president of Manugistics Group Inc. (, a provider of supply chain management solutions. His responsibilities will be assumed by CEO Joe Cowan.

TAGS: Archive
Hide comments


  • Allowed HTML tags: <em> <strong> <blockquote> <br> <p>

Plain text

  • No HTML tags allowed.
  • Web page addresses and e-mail addresses turn into links automatically.
  • Lines and paragraphs break automatically.