MHIA Elects 2008 Industry Roundtable Leaders

Feb. 1, 2008
CHARLOTTE, N.C.--MaterialHandling Industry of America (MHIA) announces the recent election of its 2008 MHIA Roundtable of Industry Leaders. The Roundtable

CHARLOTTE, N.C.--Material Handling Industry of America (MHIA) announces the recent election of its 2008 MHIA Roundtable of Industry Leaders. The Roundtable includes the Material Handling Industry Board of Governors and the MHIA Directors At Large. The Board of Governors consists of the officers of Material Handling Industry plus the chief executive officer and general counsel of the corporation. The board of governors serves as the board of directors for material handling industry.

2008-2009 Material Handling Industry board of governors are:

Colin Wilson, COO, NACCO Materials Handling Group Inc.,was elected to the position of executive chairman. George W. Prest, director of business development, UNARCO Material Handling was elected to the dual position of executive vice chairman and chairman--Material Handling Industry of America (MHIA). E. Larry Strayhorn, president of Diamond Phoenix Corporation, was elected to the position of vice chair of MHIA. Brian McNamara, president of Southworth International Group Inc., will serve as last retiring executive chairman. The following industry leaders were elected to serve as board of governors vice chairmen:

Michael Gonzalez, president & COO, HK Systems

Gregg E. Goodner, president, Hytrol Conveyor Company Inc.

Willard P. Heddles, president, Tiffin Metal Products Co.

John M. Hill, principal, TransSystems, ESYNC

Daniel J. Quinn, president, Vertical Systems International, LLC

David D. Reh, president, Gorbel Inc.

James C. Robertson, executive vice president, Cattron Group International

Richard L. Torbeck, president & CEO, Torbeck Industries

Dave Young, president, EGA Products Inc.

John B. Nofsinger, CEO, Material Handling Industry

Arthur Stroyd, Esq., partner of Del Sole Cavanaugh Stroyd LLC, will serve as Material Handling Industry general counsel. The primary mission of the board of governors is the overall governance of Material Handling Industry. The more visible external programming of the industry takes place through MHIA. This mission is accomplished through regularly scheduled activities of the board, budget and finance, planning and standing committees.

2008 MHIA Directors At Large:

Steve Ackerman, president, FKI Logistex

Shankar Basu, president, Toyota Material Handling USA Inc.

Lewis Cabot, chairman of the board, Southworth International Group

Bryan Carey, president, Starrco Co.

Craig F. Chamberlin, president & CEO, AWP Industries Inc.

Theodore D. Crandall, senior executive vice president components & packaged applications group, Rockwell Automation Control Systems

Paul Evanko, partner, St. Onge Company

Don Frazier, chairman of the board, Frazier Industrial Company

Craig Guttmann, president, Algood Casters Limited

Rick Lee, president, Transnorm Inc.

Kenneth W. Lewis, managing director, Viastore Systems

Dave Lippert, president, Hamilton Caster & Mfg. Co.

Dr. Ben Montreuil, president, CICMHE, Universite Lavel

John Paxton, President-Demag Cranes and Components Corporation

William R. Powell, president, Powell Systems Inc.

Joe Robillard, president, Autoquip Corporation

David L. Rollins, president, Nashville Wire Products Manufacturing Co. Inc.

Markus Schmidt, senior vice president, North America, Swisslog Warehouse & Distribution Division

John W. Splude, chairman & CEO, HK Systems Inc.

James A. Tompkins, Ph.D., president, Tompkins Associates

Richard Uhlig, president & CEO, Spanco Inc.